Russia to form four new divisions in 2017, including in the Kuril Islands

The Russian Ministry of Defence plans to complete the formation of four new divisions in 2017, and included in this will be the protection of the Kuril Islands. This was announced on February 22 in the State Duma on the television show “Parliamentary Hour” (Parlamentsky Chas) by Minister of Defence Sergey Shoygu, TASS reported.

“This year we hope to fully put in place three divisions on the western border and in the southwest. We are actively protecting the Kuril Islands. We must place a division there, and we must do it this year,” the minister said.

Shoygu also stated that work will be completed in 2017 to defend the coastline of the Russian Federation with the Bal and Bastion missile systems. In fact, the program is already completed in the Crimea.

  Russia, Kuril Islands, Bastion, Bal missile system, new divisions