Seven countries to draft resolution against Russia’s return to PACE

Seven countries from central and eastern Europe intend to draft a special resolution against Russia’s reinstatement in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), said Stanisław Karczewski, Marshal of the Polish Senate, as cited by Polskie Radio.

In order to discuss this, Karczewski met with representatives of these countries in Lublin on the 450th anniversary of the Lublin Union.

“We spoke about this topic yesterday. We are all outraged by this situation. Country representatives who came to today’s celebrations told me that they want to draft a joint resolution. But here, in Lublin, during these festivities, it would be very difficult. Instead, we spoke about how to hold a joint meeting as soon as possible,” he said.

Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Ukraine, Slovakia and Georgia intend to discuss joint steps, he noted.

On the evening of 24 June, the PACE passed a resolution to give Russia back its voting right. 118 delegates voted in favor of the resolution, 62 against, and 10 abstained.

The Ukrainian Foreign Ministry subsequently recalled its ambassador to the Council of Europe, and Foreign Minister Pavlo Klimkin advised Ukraine’s parliament to revoke the invitations to PACE members to observe the upcoming parliamentary elections in Ukraine.

  Russia, PACE, Europe, Klimkin, Ukraine