Ukraine condemns inclusion of South Ossetian Army into Russian Armed Forces

The Ukrainian Ministry of Foreign Affairs condemned the ratification by the State Duma of Russia of the so-called agreement to include separate units of the armed forces of the self-proclaimed Republic of South Ossetia—the separatist-controlled territory of Georgia—into the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation.

"This is another provocative step that perpetuates the Kremlin's policy of destabilizing the situation in the Black Sea region and undermining the architecture of European security," the Ministry says.

The Ministry called on the Russian Federation to fulfill its obligations under international law and withdraw all its armed forces and occupation administrations from the separatist-controlled territories of Georgia and Ukraine. It once again expressed support for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognized borders.

In August 2008, Russia recognized the sovereignty of Abkhazia and South Ossetia, the two autonomies that were part of Georgia and had sought independence from it even before the collapse of the USSR.

South Ossetia’s legal status as an independent republic is recognized by only five nations: Russia, Venezuela, Nicaragua, Nauru and Tuvalu. The European Union does not recognize the independence of South Ossetia and Abkhazia, declaring support for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Georgia.

In March 2015, Russian President Vladimir Putin and President of South Ossetia Leonid Tibilov signed an agreement on cooperation and integration. In March 2017, the Russian government approved an agreement on the inclusion of military South Ossetia into the Russian army.

  South Ossetia, Russia, Armed Forces of Russian Federation