Kyiv introduces sanctions against individuals and companies involved in Russian aggression against Ukraine

Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko has signed the decree on the National Security and Defense Council’s (NSDC) decision to introduce sanctions against legal entities and individuals associated with the Russian aggression against Ukraine.

The decision of the NSDC was published on the President’s website on Friday, May 18. The decree, No. 126, states it addresses the ‘Application and Cancellation of Personal Special Economic and Other Restrictive Measures (Sanctions).’

On May 2, the NSDC imposed sanctions against legal entities and individuals related to the Russian aggression against Ukraine, as well as against those whom the U.S. government and EU countries had listed in related policy decisions.

The sanction list includes individuals who were: involved in armed aggression against Ukraine, the preparation of the “presidential elections” in the annexed Crimea, the illegal detention of Ukrainian citizens on the territory of the Russian Federation and cyber attacks [on Ukraine]. The list additionally includes members of the State Duma and the Federation Council of the Russian Federation.

On April 6, the U.S. imposed sanctions against 36 individuals and companies from “the Kremlin list.” The list includes seven oligarchs, 17 senior officials and 12 state and private companies. On the same day, Petro Poroshenko announced that Ukraine will synchronize its sanctions with the United States of America.

  Sanctions on Russia, Russian agression