13 Russian diplomats expelled over Skripal case left Ukraine

13 Russian diplomats, whom Ukraine decided to expel due to the poisoning of Sergei Skripal in Britain, recently left the country, reported TASS news agency, citing the Representative of the Russian Embassy in Kyiv.

"All the employees of the Russian embassy, declared persona non-grata, left Ukraine," he said, noting that representatives of the embassy and consulates have fulfilled the ultimatum of the Ukrainian side.

According to the Russian Embassy Representative: “Diplomats left Ukraine in different ways: some by train, some by plane.”

On March 26, President Petro Poroshenko announced the decision of Kyiv to expel 13 Russian diplomats from Ukraine in solidarity with Britain after the poisoning of former spy Sergei Skripal.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine stated that the expelled Russian diplomats working in the representations of Kyiv, Odessa, Lviv and Kharkiv are employees of the Russian special services.

Russia promised a "mirror response" to the expulsion of its diplomats in more than 20 countries.

  Expulsion of Russian diplomats, Ukraine