European Parliament decides to not send observers to elections in Russia

The European Parliament will not send observers to the presidential elections in Russia on March 18, nor will they send them to Azerbaijan on April 11.

This was announced on Wednesday by the co-chairs of the European Parliament’s group on democracy support and election coordination David McAllister and Linda McAvan, Ukrinform reports.

“The European Parliament will not observe these electoral processes and, consequently, will also not comment on these processes and the results which will be announced. No single member of the European Parliament will have a mandate to observe and comment on these electoral processes on behalf of the EP,” noted the legislative body of the EU.

As explained by the European Parliament, if some deputies decide to observe the elections, they will do so of their own initiative, and the European Parliament will not be responsible for any statements made or actions taken by them.

“The proposals of Russian organizations to some international observers to cover their costs of travel and accommodation are contrary to the fundamental ethical principles of election observation,” noted the European Parliament.

On March 6, the Ministry of Temporarily Occupied Territories and Internally Displaced Persons of Ukraine urged residents of Crimea to not participate in the presidential elections of the Russian Federation on March 18.

Earlier, President Petro Poroshenko called on international observers to not go to the presidential elections in the Crimea.

  Crimea, presidential elections in Russia, European Parliament