FIFA has not allowed Russia to create an official fan zone in Crimea

FIFA did not grant the Crimea the right to open an official World Cup fan zone on the peninsula, the “Minister of Tourism and Resorts" of the Crimea, Vadim Volchenko reported.

"We and the Federal Agency of the Russian Federation for Tourism approached FIFA to obtain permission for public broadcasts of World Cup [matches] and didn't get an answer," R-Sport agency quoted Volchenko as saying.

"It is a weird situation, there is neither a refusal nor an answer. In fact, it seems like a ban for the official World Cup fan zones. It will probably not be done on a massive scale. There were other fan projects as well but they had to be cancelled," he added.

The World Cup will be held from June 14 to July 15 at twelve stadiums in eleven Russian cities: Moscow, St. Petersburg, Kaliningrad, Nizhny Novgorod, Kazan, Samara, Saransk, Volgograd, Rostov-on-Don, Sochi, and Yekaterinburg

  FIFA, Crimea, World Cup