Georgia cuts diplomatic ties with Syria

Georgia has officially broken off diplomatic relations with Syria. Earlier Tbilisi said that it intended to do so, after Damascus recognized Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

The press service of Georgia’s Foreign Ministry said in a statement that Georgia’s permanent representative to the UN has informed the UN secretary-general of the decision.

Georgia explained that its decision was due to the the Syrian government’s decision to recognize the independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia, in violation of international law. Tbilisi said that this decision by Damascus effectively supports the “Russian military aggression” and “ethnic cleansing” in the two republics.

Syria recognized the independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia on May 29. That same day, Georgia said that Damascus had made this decision due to pressure from Russia, ignoring its international legal obligations to respect the territorial integrity of sovereign states and the inviolability of borders.

The Syrian government’s decision has also been condemned by the EU and Norway. In an official statement, the US Department of State said that Washington completely supports the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia, and urges all countries not to recognize the independence of Abkhazia or South Ossetia.

Georgia does not maintain diplomatic relations with any of the countries which have recognized the independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia, namely Nicaragua, Venezuela, Nauru and Vanuatu, in addition to Syria and Russia.

  Georgia, Syria, Abkhazia, South Ossetia, diplomatic relations with Syria