Putin dismisses nine generals

Russian President Vladimir Putin dismissed nine generals from various government security agencies. According to the President's decree, generals from the Russian Ministry of Internal Affairs (MIA), the Investigative Committee of Russia (ICR), the Federal Penitentiary Service (FSIN) and the Ministry of Emergency Situations have been dismissed.

Major General of the Police Rafail Gilmanov has been relieved of the position of Deputy Minister of the Interior of Tatarstan. Lieutenant-General of internal service Sergey Didenko was dismissed from his position as head of the Siberian regional center of the Ministry of Emergency Situations. Major General of Justice Irina Zeibert has been dismissed from the position of Senior Assistant of the Chairperson of the Investigative Committee of Russia. Major-General of internal service Alexander Kuznetsov has been dismissed from the position of Deputy Chief of the MIA’s Main Directorate for the Krasnoyarsk Territory.

Major General of internal service, Chief of the FSIN Directorate for the Kirov Region Vladimir Nikiteyev, the head of the ICR’s Investigative Directorate in Tatarstan, Lieutenant-General of Justice Pavel Nikolaev, Chief of the Southern Regional Emergency Center, Colonel-General of internal service Igor Oder, Chief of the North-West Regional Emergency Center, Colonel-General of internal service Igor Panin, and head of the Anti-Corruption Department of the MIA’s Moscow Central Board, Major-General of Police Sergey Solopov have also been dismissed from their positions.

With the same decree, Putin appointed others to take their place. In particular, the official representative of the MIA, Police Coronel Irina Volk was has been appointed as Assistant to the Minister of Internal Affairs of Russia.

  Russia, Putin


Please visit out Twitter account for updates on the situation in Ukraine.