In response to Ottawa’s sanctions Russia bans entry for many Canadians

Russia banned the entry into the country for many Canadians, responding to new Canadian sanctions in connection with the recently adopted Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act– Canadian equivalent of the "Magnitsky Act", as stated by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia Maria Zakharova.

According to Zakharova, Moscow repeatedly warned the Canadian authorities against attempts to exert sanctions pressure on Russia.

We have to act in a similar fashion. Based on the principle of reciprocity, it was decided to ban entry to the Russian Federation for a number of Canadian officials: the list is long, there are dozens of names in it, these are those Russophobic citizens of Canada who has been systematically engaged in the destruction of bilateral relations," the statement says.

Earlier it was reported that the Canadian authorities had decided to impose sanctions against 52 foreigners, including 30 citizens of the Russian Federation. The list includes, in particular, the head of the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation Alexander Bastrykin, Deputy Prosecutor General Viktor Grin, former head of the Interior Ministry's Investigative Committee Alexei Anichin, judge Sergei Podoprigorov, who approved the arrest of Sergei Magnitsky.

  Russia, Magnitsky Act, Canada