Kyiv bans entry to 60 Russian diplomats expelled from the US

The Security Service of Ukraine (SBU) has banned 60 Russian diplomats expelled from the US from entering Ukraine. The Russians’ activities are recognized as incompatible with their diplomatic status, reported SBU on its website.

The five-year ban affects 48 diplomats from the Russian embassy and 12 from the United Nations headquarters in New York, all of those who were deported from the US on March 26.

A similar ban was introduced on March 27 against 23 Russian citizens who were expelled from the UK in connection with the poisoning of former intelligence agent Sergei Skripal and his daughter Yulia.

Since March 26, many countries worldwide have announced the expulsion of Russian diplomats engaged in intelligence activities. This was done as a sign of solidarity with the UK, in whose territory Skripal was poisoned. At the moment, 29 countries (including Britain) and the NATO Headquarters have expelled a total of 152 Russian diplomats.

Passers-by found Sergei Skripal and his daughter Yulia on a bench in Salisbury on March 4. The British authorities believe that they were poisoned by the nerve agent Novichok, which is made in Russia (its development began in the USSR). They believe that Russia is highly likely responsible for the attack.

  Expulsion of Russian diplomats, SBU